Are you a frequent user of Android Messages? Ever had to report spam messages? If spam messages were a burden for you, here’s a solution from Android for your problem! Android is now rolling out a new feature which has the ability to detect spam messages without any user interference. So here’s more about this latest feature…

It’s true that Android Messages users already had the chance of reporting spam messages manually. All what they had to do is to just open the conversation, tap the menu icon, tap Details, and then tap Block & Report Spam. After doing so, the messages disappear but the content of those messages are sent to Google. But this latest feature which is rolling out now is much different from the earlier procedure!

It will help automatically sort out any spam messages you might receive. But how does it happen? It’s like this. This new automatic spam feature will
begin analyzing messages that are sent to you in order to detect and help you block spam messages. If Google suspects a message as a spam, it will issue you a notification asking if you want to block and report it. A simple touch on that notification will start that process.

Any of the android users who are interested about this feature, will definitely have a doubt with regard to their privacy. Google has already answered that issue as well. They clearly declare that neither the user’s phone number nor the messages the user send are scanned during this process. However, if the user reports a message as a spam, thereafter Google will log that number and also log up to ten messages sent by the spammer.

Below is the official statement of Google with regard to this matter.

“To help identify spammers, Google temporarily stores the phone numbers of people sending and receiving messages with you and the times they messaged with you, but does not store your phone number or the content of these messages.”

This automatic spam feature comes as a server-side update and is now already released in certain countries. When the feature is enabled in your phone you will be notified that it’s there via a pop-up in the Android Messages app. This is an opt-out feature hence it is enabled by default. Yet if a specific user dislikes this features, he still has the ability to disable this feature, through advanced settings once the feature fully rolls out.

Google plans to release this feature more widely in the coming months. Success or failure of this feature is still not revealed. Let’s see how far the android users will embrace this feature.